Help Please

Introduce yourself and your car(s) here!
satoronado
TOA Membership Number: 0
Years Owned: 1983

Help Please

Postby satoronado » Sun Jan 16, 2011 6:03 pm

I am settling the estate of my late uncle and therefore am now in possession of his '83 Toronado. He hadn't driven it in 20 years, but he did store it in a climate controlled garage. We put a new battery and some fuel in and she started right up. The odo shows 90,000 miles and I know for a fact that is actual. My question is...how reliable is the engine and transmission on these cars, and how expensive is a repair job on those componnys? I am able to do routine maintanence on cars but I have zero experience with front wheel drive. I would like to keep her but don't want to be in over my head. Thanks in advance for any help and or advice.

pfloro
TOA Membership Number: 0

Re: Help Please

Postby pfloro » Tue Jan 18, 2011 10:43 pm

Hello:

Having owned & daily driven my '84 Toronado since it was built (presently 194,600 miles), I can provide some information.

If your '83 has the 307 V8, it is a very reliable Olds engine. It doesn't make much power but will just keep on running. These engines used a nylon tipped camshaft timing gear. The miles driven & oil change frequency determines how fast these nylon tips wear out and break off. No damage to the engine will occur if the timing chain skips a tooth or two but you'll need a tow. A good mechanic can easily check for slack in the chain. If the chain is slack, there is a good chance the nylon tips are worn or missing. It's not a major expense to replace the timing set (chain and all metal gears). For durability, install a double roller timing chain. They are available for this Olds family of engines.