First Generation Toronado Advice

General discussion forum. Moderated. Keep it clean and nice folks.
jaiello21
TOA Membership Number: 0

First Generation Toronado Advice

Postby jaiello21 » Sun Oct 16, 2016 6:14 pm

Hello all,

My name is Jared, I am new to Toronado's in general and the forum here. I am a younger guy who is a proclaimed Cadillac enthusiast (don't shoot :D ) and am considering adding a first generation Toronado to my classic car stable. I currently own a 1979 Cadillac Coupe DeVille d'Elegance with 6,000 original miles and have fallen in love with it. My father and I have always admired Toronado's, particularly the first generation and stumbled open an all original '69 recently that is on Hemmings.com. The link is attached below to view, but the car is a completely original 1 family owned car with all documentation from day one including the invoice. It has 50k miles, and is finished in Autumn Gold with a Gold leather interior. Quite nicely optioned with Comfortronic A/C, rear defog, 6 way pwr. seat, tilt/telesc., chrome wheels, disc brakes and a few other accessories. The seller wants $21k and the A/C is inoperative (owner is not sure what the issue, hasn't bothered pursuing) and it needs a new sensor for gas gauge which he has. Also, the "rocket" appliqué/label on the engine appears to be missing. My question to everyone here is- How collectable are the later model year first-gen Toronado's ('68/'69) vs. the early model years ('66/'67)? I like the idea of an early car because the styling is stunning, but also can appreciate the '68/9 models with their new grille(s), hidden headlights, and upgraded powertrain. According to Hagerty, the values for later models (except for 1970) are rather similar to earlier model years. Does this figure hold true in the actual market for these cars? The price for this '69 seems to be fair *if* Hagerty is accurate. Are there advantages to buying a later model vs. an earlier one or is it simply subjective? I apologize f