1978 Toronado XS

General discussion forum. Moderated. Keep it clean and nice folks.
Goldfinger24k
TOA Membership Number: 0
Years Owned: 1978 Toronado XS

1978 Toronado XS

Postby Goldfinger24k » Sun Apr 10, 2016 7:16 am

Hi Gang. I'm pretty new to the Toronado family only ever having owned a 1983 quite some time ago.

I ran across a 78 XS barn find (actually is sitting in a barn) with 38000 miles on it and reportedly, no rust. Pictures of it show it covered in dust. It is silver with red velour interior. Asking price is $2000 obo. I'm going to look at it today.

Any thoughts on this? I've done some research and found that there were only 2453 of these made in that year. What is the market on these? I can find very few for sale.

Any things I should look for in particular when I check it out? I'm concerned for engine and transmission seals from sitting for so long along with condition of all rubber.

Thanks in advance.

Otto Skorzeny
Years Owned: 1966 Toronado

Re: 1978 Toronado XS

Postby Otto Skorzeny » Sun Apr 10, 2016 11:56 am

Whatever you do, don't try to start it.

First, look for rust underneath. Barns might keep the rain off of it but the earth floor holds moisture which can rust the underside of the car as bad as if it were outside (unless you're in Arizona or someplace).

You should be able to tell pretty quickly whether the rubber and vinyl are cracked and brittle or still soft and pliable. Maybe all that just needs cleaning.

See if the engine can be turned over manually or at least see if the crank can be moved at all by turning the pulley with a ratchet or something. Probably best to remove the spark plugs to make it easier.

If the engine doesn't appear to be frozen and you want to attempt a start, change the oil and filter. Disconnect the fuel line and blow it out if possible. Change the fuel filter. Drain the fuel tank and fill it with fresh gas.